+61 (0) 477 555 447

Six weeks to go. Six weeks until I am riding with Pat Parelli!  ?

My name is Julia and I am 18. I am not your typical 18-year-old. I spend my time divided between my horses, volunteering at Sovereign Hill (google it ) and learning languages.

I have spent a lot of my life in hospitals. When I was young the doctors said I would never learn to read and write. I had limited balance and left-sided weakness. My mum was told to put me in a special school. I was very withdrawn from the world around me as my life consisted of too many hospitals and too many doctors who were fascinated with what I couldn’t do instead of what I could do.

My mum knew I could learn, she knew what I needed, she noticed I had an affinity with animals and in particular with horses.  They are such a stress-release for me!

We put a lot of effort into finding the right horse for me. After a year of searching we bought ‘Roman’. A 17.3hh Percheron x Quarter horse. A lot of people said why would you get such a large horse for a young girl but isn’t it all about the horse’s nature/horsenality and not his size?

Roman is 21 years now. I ride for pleasure in a hackamore, either bareback or with my Parelli saddle. I love to ride through the bush. I am also learning to ride side-saddle and Roman has taken to this well, even while I wear a full 1850’s outfit with skirts flowing.

I have been a Parelli Savvy Club Memberhttps://parellisavvyclub.com/ since late in 2011 and I am very grateful for this opportunity. It has taken a few weeks for the news to sink into my brain and for me to believe it is all going to come together so that I can ride Roman with Pat.

He is my partner of 8 years who has helped me through so many horrible medical things and helped me through life.

I will also be riding on the arena with Jennifer Woo. Jen has been my instructorhttp://professionals.parelli.com/professionals/ from the beginning. She has always given me all the time I need. When others thought I was not capable, she did not. She worked with me and took no notice of my medical complications. She instructed, and I practiced and here we are, together.

After many years of working with horses, physiotherapists, occupational therapists, pediatricians, neurologists, and neurologists you will notice I am not like your average 18-year-old but you probably will not notice a lot of anything wrong.
I have worked hard to disguise my weaknesses. I like to hide these things.  ?

Please do not expect too much of me outwardly. I will be quiet as I rarely talk to anyone I do not know but I will have my family with me who will make up for my quietness. I am the eldest of five children and both my parents will be there to cheer me on. I am also hoping my adopted Grandma and Grandpa will be able to attend on one of the days.

What an amazing weekend it will be….. myself, Roman, Pat and Jen….all on one arena!

Who said I couldn’t do it?!!

Julia Freeman

What an amazing story! Support Julia and her family~join them 3-4 March at the Werribee National Equestrian Centre   
Secure your ticket now! Family friendly children 12 and under come for Free!